Front Page of the Website History and Practices of Alpha Phi Omega Theta Chapter Theta Chapter's Service Program Social Life in Theta Chapter The Theta Chapter Rush Process The Theta Pledging Experience Brothers and Pledges of Theta Section APO Theta Alumni Section

About Alpha Phi Omega Theta Chapter Current Officers and Advisors

Alpha Phi Omega was founded in 1925 by Frank Reed Horton at Lafayette College upon the three cardinal principles of Leadership, Friendship, and Service, derived from the principles of boy scouting.  Horton believed that APO was

“destined to be one of the greatest college fraternities in the world because…the motivating idea behind it is to look for good and to try to do good to everyone regardless of who or what belief.” 

Theta Chapter at U.Va. is the eighth of 366 chapters to which Horton’s vision has spread.

Unlike all-male social fraternities, APO is a co-ed community service fraternity.  The membership of Theta Chapter together performs over 2000 hours of service a semester within the University, in the Charlottesville community, and beyond.  Members of Theta are serious about service, and our chapter boasts one of the most intense and well-reputed service programs of all chapters nationwide.  Service opportunities exist for Theta brothers every day of the week.  Please visit the Service Page to learn more.

After their pledge semester, all Theta members are called brothers, regardless of gender.  Theta brothers select new pledges through a selective rush, and each pledge must complete a probationary semester to gain membership.  The pledging process of Theta includes plenty of fun and service, with absolutely no hazing.  Each pledge is assigned two or three Big Brothers who guide them as their pledge class finds, fundraises for, and finally leads a large-scale service project.  Please visit our Rush Page and Pledging Page to learn more about these processes.

Fall 2014
President Kylene Daily
Service Vice Presidents Emily Moore,
  Millicent Usoro  
Membership Vice President Jack Baker
Social Vice Presidents Lanie Cohen,
  Kristian Robinson  
Pledgemaster Meghan Smith
Rush Chair Jack O'Halloran
Midweeks Coordinator Shawn Gregor
Treasurer William DeCesare
Recording Secretary Christopher Williams
Corresponding Secretary Ayanna Egbarin
Public Relations Chair Jamie Shalvey
Historian Emily Uosseph
Sergeant-at-Arms William Harris
John Bonvillian
Whitney Hawkins
James Bishop
Alexander Keevil
Website design by Siri Sahib Khalsa
Website modified by Kevin Ngo
Page last updated
August 24, 2014 5:51 PM